الصفحة الرئيسية
حول القمة العالمية
اجتماعات و مؤتمرات
المتابعة
خطة العمل الاقليمية
ملامح مجتمع المعلومات

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

المؤتمر الإقليمي التحضيري الثاني للقمة العالمية لمجتمع المعلومات
دمشق، 22-23 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2004
الشراكة في بناء مجتمع المعلومات العربي

مذكــرة توضيـحية |  اضغط هنا لتنزيل المذكرة التوضيحية (PDF)


تبنت المرحلة الأولى من القمة العالمية لمجتمع المعلومات، التي عقدت في جنيف خلال الفترة 10-12 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2003، وثيقتي إعلان المبادئ وخطة العمل على الصعيد العالمي، وبذلك تم إطلاق مرحلة التعاون الدولي لردم الفجوة الرقمية بين البلدان المتقدمة والبلدان النامية، ويشارك خلالها جميع أصحاب المصلحة في بناء مجتمع معلومات جامع. وتم تحديد هدف رئيسي لتطوير بنية تحتية وخدماتها لتكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات تسمح بالنفاذ الشامل والمنصف وذي تكلفة معقولة. كما تم الإدراك بأن الطريق الوحيد لتحقيق النفاذ الشامل هو من خلال خلق بيئة تمكينية مبنية على سياسات وقوانين وأطر تنظيمية واضحة وتعزيز الثقة في تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات.

عمدت خطة العمل هذه إلى وضع خارطة الطريق لبناء هذه البيئة التمكينية وجعلها مستدامة من خلال التخطيط لأنشطة لبناء القدرات، ومنها تعليم السكان، وتطوير تطبيقات البحث والتنمية والإبداع، وتعزيز الأعمال المتعلقة بتكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات. واعتبرت الخطة أن النسوة والجماعات المهمشة والضعيفة هي من المكونات الهامة في مجتمع المعلومات المنشود والتي هي بحاجة للتمكين. وللوصول إلى مجتمع المعلومات الشامل، من الضروري تطوير المحتوى على الإنترنت بحيث يصبح متعدد اللغات ومتنوع وملائم ثقافياً، وتعزيز استقلالية وتعددية الإعلام. كما اقترحت بعض الخطوات للتشارك في المعرفة مع احترام حقوق الملكية الفكرية بغية التشجيع على التجديد والإبداع.

أما موضوعي الإدارة العالمية للإنترنت وتمويل المشاريع الإنمائية، اللتا لم يتم التوصل إلى اتفاق بشأنهما في قمة جنيف، فقد شكل الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة فريق عمل معني بإدارة الإنترنت وفريق آخر للمهام المتعلقة بآليات التمويل، وذلك لدراسة كل من المسألتين وتقديم الاقتراحات اللازمة. وتقدم تقارير فريقي العمل إلى العملية التحضيرية للمرحلة الثانية من القمة لتساهم في اتخاذ القرارات والإجراءات المناسبة.

وفقاً لقرار الاجتماع الأول للجنة التحضيرية (PrepCom-1)، سينصب اهتمام المرحلة الثانية من القمة، التي ستعقد في تونس خلال الفترة 16-18 تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر 2005، على "متابعة وتنفيذ إعلان المبادئ وخطة عمل جنيف من قبل أصحاب المصلحة على المستويات الوطنية والإقليمية والدولية مع اهتمام خاص بالتحديات التي تواجهها أقل البلدان نمواً" ، وتتم التحضيرات على المستويين الإقليمي والعالمي من خلال مؤتمرات إقليمية ودون إقليمية وموضوعية، وتقدم نتائجها في الاجتماعات التحضيرية على المستوى العالمي وذلك لإعداد مسودة وثائق يتم اعتمادها في قمة تونس. وبينما شكلت وثيقة إعلان بيروت، الناتجة عن مؤتمر غربي آسيا التحضيري للقمة، الذي عقد في بيروت (شباط /فبراير 2003)، المساهمة الإقليمية لوثيقتي قمة جنيف، أي إعلان المبادئ وخطة العمل، فإنه من المتوقع أن يخلص هذا المؤتمر إلى خطة عمل إقليمية تأخذ بالاعتبار الاحتياجات لبناء مجتمع معلومات عربي مستدام.

الأهــداف

يهدف المؤتمر الإقليمي التحضيري الثاني للقمة العالمية لمجتمع المعلومات إلى متابعة تنفيذ مقررات المرحلة الأولى من القمة التي عقدت في جنيف (كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2003)، والإعداد على المستوى الإقليمي للمرحلة الثانية من القمة في تونس (تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر 2005). وبما أن الاهتمام في مرحلة تونس من القمة سينصب على تنفيذ خطة العمل العالمية، يهدف المؤتمر إلى:

  • مراجعة الخطوات التي اتخذتها الدول العربية لتضييق الفجوة الرقمية بضوء ما توصلت إليه مرحلة جنيف من القمة؛

  • اعتماد خطة عمل إقليمية مبنية على الاستراتيجية العربية للاتصالات والمعلومات المعتمدة في القمة العربية في عمّان (آذار/مارس 2001) وعلى خطة العمل العالمية المعتمدة في قمة جنيف؛

  • الترويج الفاعل للشراكة بين مختلف أصحاب المصلحة في مجتمع المعلومات، ومنهم الحكومات، والقطاع الخاص، والمنظمات الدولية والإقليمية وغير الحكومية، وذلك بغية تنفيذ خطة العمل الإقليمية؛

  • إطلاق مشاريع إقليمية وأساسية يتوفر لها التمويل اللازم والشراكة الفاعلة لضمان درجة عالية من النجاح.

الموضوعات

يتناول المؤتمر الموضوعات الرئيسية لوثيقة إعلان المبادئ العالمية التي تلقى اهتماما مباشراً في المنطقة، وخاصة:

  1. استراتيجيات تكنولوجيا المعلومات الوطنية وخطتها – الدروس المكتسبة والتنسيق الإقليمي؛

  2. خطة عمل إقليمية لبناء مجتمع المعلومات – نحو تعزيز الأنشطة المتعلقة بتكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات وتنسيقها وتنفيذها على المستويين الوطني والإقليمي، وذلك من أجل التنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية؛

  3. إعداد الملامح الوطنية والإقليمية – نحو تطوير العملية وجعلها مستدامة؛

  4. قياس مجتمع المعلومات – التعاون في تحديد المؤشرات الملائمة، والتوقيت المناسب لجمع ونشر البيانات، تطوير هيكلية إقليمية لعملية الرصد؛

  5. مشاريع تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات ذات الأولوية للمنطقة – النطاق، والشراكة، والتمويل؛

  6. إدارة الإنترنت و أسماء النطاقات العربية؛

  7. بناء القدرات، وتقاسم المعرفة، والإبداع؛

  8. تمكين النسوة في مجتمع المعلومات العربي؛

  9. تمكين المجتمعات المهمشة والمحرومة؛

  10. تحقيق الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية في بناء مجتمع المعلومات العربي.

 

المخرجات/النتائج

النتيجة الأهم المتوقعة من المؤتمر هي خطة عمل إقليمية تتضمن أنشطة رئيسية ينبغي تنفيذها على المستويين الإقليمي والدولي، وتشتمل على الآتي:

  • - هيكلية استراتيجية تتشكل من عشرة مجالات وتتطرق إلى مجموعة من القضايا لبناء مجتمع المعلومات وللمساهمة في بناء القدرات المحلية الملائمة لاستخدام المعلومات والمعرفة وبالتالي لتعزير التنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية في المنطقة؛

  • خطوط عمل تهدف إلى تنظيم مسار الأعمال على المستوى الإقليمي، وتشجيع تنمية القدرة الوطنية على تحقيق تغيرات جوهرية في مجالات الهيكلية الاستراتيجية وعلى العديد من المستويات مع إيلاء اهتماما خاصا لاحتياجات النساء والشباب والشيوخ والشرائح ذات الحاجات الخاصة من السكان بما فيها المجتمعات الفقيرة والأشخاص المعوقين؛

  • برامج تهدف إلى خلق الشراكات الرفيعة المستوى، وحث مجموعة كبيرة من أصحاب المصلحة على المشاركة الفعالة فيها، وذلك من خلال إيلاء الاهتمام للمجالات الأساسية من الهيكلية الاستراتيجية وتحديد وتطوير عدد من المشاريع الإقليمية؛

  • مشاريع تحقق أهداف البرامج وتشجع على قيام الشراكات المثمرة وتأمين الموارد الضرورية للمضي في عملية التنفيذ، وبالتالي لبنات تطوير مجتمع المعلومات؛

  • آليات الشراكة والتمويل الهادفة التي تشكل قوة الدفع اللازمة للسير نحو مجتمع المعلومات في المنطقة.

وسيتم خلال المؤتمر إطلاق دعوة إلى الشراكة تعطي الزخم في مجال التعاون الإقليمي بين العديد من أصحاب المصلحة، وذلك لتمكين النجاح في تنفيذ المشاريع وإنشاء أسس متينة لبناء مجتمع المعلومات العربي.

التنظـــيم

يعقد المؤتمر الإقليمي التحضيري الثاني للقمة العالمية لمجتمع المعلومات تحت رعاية معالي المهندس محمد ناجي عطري، رئيس مجلس وزراء الجمهورية العربية السورية، وذلك في قصر الأمويين للمؤتمرات، خلال الفترة 22-23 تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر 2004. ويتشارك في تنظيمه لجنة الأمم المتحدة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغرب آسيا (الإسكوا)، والمكتب الإقليمي لمنظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلوم والثقافة (اليونسكو) في القاهرة، ووزارة الاتصالات والتقانة في الجمهورية العربية السورية. وسيعقد المؤتمر بالتعاون مع منظمات دولية وإقليمية أخرى ومؤسسات بارزة من القطاع الخاص.

يسبق المؤتمر مباشرة تنظيم منتدى الشراكة، في 21 تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر 2004، ويجمع المنتدى بين المؤسسات الممولة والخبرات التقنية والجهات المستفيدة للبحث في عدد من المشاريع والاتفاق حولها، وإحداث الشراكات لتنفيذها.


المشـاركون/التسجيل

إن الحكومات، وقطاع الأعمال، ومؤسسات المجتمع المدني، والمنظمات الدولية والإقليمية، والمؤسسات الإعلامية، والخبراء في سياسات تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات وتطبيقاتها وخدماتها والمهتمين ببناء مجتمع المعلومات في المنطقة العربية جميعهم مدعوون للمشاركة الفاعلة في المؤتمر. وذلك من خلال تقديم الأوراق، والعروض، والمشاركة في النقاشات التي تدور ضمن الموضوعات المذكورة أعلاه والمتعلقة بتكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات وتطوير مجتمع المعلومات.

يمكن للراغبين بالمشاركة التسجيل مباشرة على موقع الإنترنت.  ونظراً للحاجة إلى اسم المستخدم والرمز السري للتسجيل، وتسهيلاً لتحديث المعلومات عن المشارك في قاعدة المعلومات المركزية، ينبغي طلب المشاركة من خلال الموقع المذكور لتزويد المشارك بمعلومات الدخول ليتمكن من التسجيل إلكترونياً وتحديث المعلومات الخاصة به.


لغــة الاجتماع

يعمل باللغتين العربية أو الإنكليزية في المؤتمر، وتتوفر خلال الجلسات الترجمة الفورية من وإلى اللغة العربية.


معلومات إضافية

ترسل المساهمات، والاستفسارات، وطلبات المعلومات إلى:

 

السيد أحمد فرحات
مدير إدارة تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات
الإسكوا
ص.ب: 8575-11
بيروت، لبنان
البريد الإلكتروني: farahat@un.org
الهاتف: 978549-1-961+
الفاكس: 981510-1-961+
 

لمزيد من المعلومات حول الأمور التنظيمية، ومنها السفر والإقامة، الرجاء الاتصال بـ:

 

السيد رمزي رمضان
مدير العلاقات العامة
المؤسسة العامة للاتصالات
أتوستراد المزة، صندوق بريد 35108
الجمهورية العربية السورية
البريد الإلكتروني: pub-dir@net.sy
الهاتف: 6122645-11-963+
الفاكس: 6121645-11-963+

Home
About WSIS
Conferences & Meetings
Follow-up
Reg. Plan of Action
Info Society Profiles

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

 
SECOND REGIONAL PREPARATORY CONFERENCE FOR WSIS,
DAMASCUS, 22-23 November 2004
Partnership for Building the Arab Information Society

 
Information Note | Click here to download the Information Note (PDF)
 

The first phase of the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS), held in Geneva during 10-12 December 2003, adopted a Declaration of Principles (DoP) and a global Plan of Action (PoA), setting the stage for international cooperation to close the existing digital divide between developing and developed countries while involving all stakeholders in building an inclusive information society. A key goal was set to develop universally accessible, equitable and affordable information and communication technology (ICT) infrastructure and services; and it was recognized that only through creating an enabling environment based on clear policies, laws and regulatory frameworks and building trust and confidence in ICT, that access can become truly universal.

The PoA attempted to set a roadmap to build such an environment and to make it sustainable, through planning for capacity building activities, including educating populations, establishing research, development and innovation practices as well as promoting ICT enterprises. Women as well as marginalized and vulnerable groups were looked upon as important constituents of the sought global information society, and in need of empowerment. The development of a multilingual, diverse and culturally appropriate content on the Internet, as well as the independence and pluralism of the media were considered essential for a global and inclusive information society. Actions were also suggested to share knowledge while respecting intellectual property rights to spur innovation and creativity.

The two issues that remained unsolved, however, were the global Internet governance and the funding of development projects. The United Nations Secretary General formed a Working Group on Internet Governance and a Task Force on Financial Mechanisms to study and make recommendations on both issues. The outputs of both groups should feed into the preparatory process for the second phase of WSIS, leading to appropriate decisions and actions.

As decided in the first Preparatory Committee meeting (PrepCom-1), the second phase of WSIS, to be held in Tunis during 16-18 November 2005, will focus on the "follow-up and implementation of the Geneva Declaration of Principles and Plan of Action by stakeholders at national, regional and international levels" . Preparations will be carried at the regional and global levels through regional, sub-regional and thematic conferences, the outcomes of which will feed into the (global) Preparatory Committee meetings, to produce draft documents to be adopted at the Tunis Summit. The Second Regional Preparatory Conference for WSIS, focusing on partnership for building the Arab information society, is part of the preparatory process for this second phase of the WSIS. While the Western Asia Preparatory Conference for WSIS, held in Beirut (February 2003), produced the Beirut Declaration, providing regional input to the Geneva DoP and PoA, this Conference should produce a Regional Plan of Action, taking into account regional needs for building a sustainable Arab information society.

Objectives:

The Second Regional Preparatory Conference for WSIS will follow up on the outcome of the first phase of the Summit, held in Geneva (December 2003), and will launch regional preparations for the second phase in Tunis (November 2005). Since the Tunis Summit will focus on the implementation of a global PoA, this Conference has the following objectives:

  • Review of actions taken by Arab countries to reduce the digital divide in light of the outcome of the Geneva phase of WSIS;

  • Adoption of a Regional Plan of Action, based on the Arab Strategy for Communications and Information, adopted by the Arab Summit in Amman (March 2001) and the global PoA adopted in the Geneva Summit;

  • Active promotion of partnerships among the various stakeholders of the information society, including Government, private sector, non-governmental and international/regional organizations, in order to implement the Regional Plan of Action;

  • Launching key regional projects that have the necessary funding and partnership to insure a high rate of success.

 

Issues:

The main issues to be dealt with at the Conference consist of those raised in the global DoP that are of primary concern to the region, particularly:

  1. National ICT strategies and plans lessons learned and regional coordination;

  2. Regional Plan of Action for building the information society towards the advancement, coordination and implementation of national and regional ICT activities for socio-economic development;

  3. National and regional profiling developing and sustaining the process;

  4. Measuring the information society collaboration in the specification of appropriate indicators, timely data collection/dissemination and building a regional framework for monitoring progress;

  5. Priority ICT projects for the region scope, partnership and financing;

  6. Internet governance and the Arabic Domain Names;

  7. Capacity-building, knowledge sharing, and innovation;

  8. Empowering women in the Arab information society;

  9. Enabling marginalized and disadvantaged communities;

  10. Reaching the Millennium Development Goals in building the Arab information society.

Outcomes:

The most important outcome of the Conference will be the Regional Plan of Action, which will encompass major activities to be carried out at the regional and national levels, and which consists of:

  • A strategic framework containing ten areas addressing a multitude of issues for building the information society and contributing to the creation of adequate endogenous capabilities for harnessing information and knowledge, thereby promoting socio-economic development in the region;

  • Action lines aimed at streamlining actions at the regional level and at promoting the development of national capacity for achieving significant changes in the areas of the strategic framework and at a number of levels of intervention, with a view to serve women, youth, elderly, and special segments of the population such as impoverished communities and the disabled;

  • Programmes aimed at triggering high-level partnerships and inducing interactive participation from a broad base of stakeholders, through serving the main areas of the strategic framework and identifying and developing a number of regional projects;

  • Projects aimed at fulfilling the objectives of the programmes and at instigating fruitful partnerships and securing the necessary resources to proceed with implementation, thus acting as the building blocks for developing the information society;

  • Partnership and funding mechanisms aimed at producing the desired impetus to migrate towards the information society in the region.

A "Call for Partnership" will also be launched during the conference in order to provide the momentum for a regional multi-stakeholder collaboration, enabling the successful implementation of projects and leading to the building of solid foundations for the Arab information society.


Organization:

The Second Regional Preparatory Conference for WSIS will be held under the patronage of H.E. Eng. Mohammad Naji Otri, Prime Minister of the Syrian Arab Republic, at the Umayyad Congress Palace, during 22-23 November 2004. The Conference is jointly organized by the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA), the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Cairo Office and the Syrian Ministry of Communications and Technology (MCT). It will be held in collaboration with other international and regional organizations and prominent civil society and private sector institutions.

Preceding the Conference, a Partnership Forum will be organized on 21 November 2004, with the aim of bringing donors, technical experts and beneficiaries together in order to discuss and agree on a number of projects and form partnerships for their implementation.

Participants/registration:

Governments, businesses, civil society institutions, regional/international organizations, media as well as individual experts in ICT policies, applications, and services, concerned with building the information society in the Arab region, are invited to actively participate through papers, presentations and discussions on the above topics related to ICT and the development of the information society.

Registration can be performed on-line. Since a username and password are required for registration and to allow updating of information in the participants central database, an application form should be submitted first, electronically at the above location in order to provide you with login information.


Language:

Both Arabic and English languages will be the working languages at the Conference. Therefore, simultaneous translation from Arabic to English and vice-versa will be provided during the sessions.


Additional information:

Submissions, inquiries and requests for additional information should be addressed to:

Mr. Ahmed Farahat, Director
ICT Division, ESCWA
P.O. Box 11-8575
Beirut, Lebanon
Email: farahat@un.org
Tel: +961-1-978549
Fax: +961-1-981510

 

Inquiries regarding logistics, including travel and accommodation, should be directed to:

Mr. Ramzi Ramadan, Director
Public Relations
Syrian Telecommunication Establishment
Mazeh Autostrade, PO Box 35108
Syrian Arab Republic
Email: pub-dir@net.sy
Tel: +963-11-6122645
Fax: +963-11-6121645

 



[1] "Decision of PrepCom-1", WSIS Executive Secretariat document: WSIS-II/PC-1/DOC/5-E, 26 June 2004.