الصفحة الرئيسية
حول القمة العالمية
اجتماعات و مؤتمرات
المتابعة
خطة العمل الاقليمية
ملامح مجتمع المعلومات

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

الاجتماعات

ورشة عمل المعلوماتية القانونية من منظور عربي
‏ 12-14 كانون الأول/ديسـمبر 2005‏

 

‏- المقدمة‏

تمتد جذور المعلوماتية القانونية علماً وممارسةً إلى عدد من الاختصاصات وتعود أصولها إلى علم القياس ‏القانوني‏‎ (Jurimetrics)‎‏. وتعنى المعلوماتية القانونية مبدئياً بتطبيق المعلوماتية على القانون، لذا اقتصرت على متابعة ‏التفاعل بين التكنولوجيا الجديدة والنصوص القانونية من المنظور التقني فقط. في هذا الإطار، تشتمل المعلوماتية القانونية ‏على ثلاثة مجالات أساسية تتعلق بتخزين البيانات واسترجاعها، والتحليل الوظائفي لهذه البيانات، واستخدام المنطق ‏الرمزي، تضمنتها الفروع الثلاثة التالية:‏

‎•‎ المعلوماتية القانونية الإدارية، وتشمل برامج لإدارة العمليات القانونية والإدارية، واستعمال الحاسوب في ‏المهنة القانونية، وأتمتة الإجراءات القضائية، وصياغة القوانين؛
‎•‎ المعلوماتية القانونية التوثيقية، وتتعلق باسترجاع المعلومات من خلال قواعد بيانات المعطيات القانونية. ‏وهذا يتضمن اعتماد المكانز القانونية وتصميم واستخدام تكنولوجيا البحث عن النص لأغراض التصنيف ‏والتلخيص واسترجاع المعلومات؛
‎•‎ المعلوماتية القانونية لدعم اتخاذ القرار، وتتمحور حول بناء واستخدام النظم القانونية الخبيرة، وأدوات داعمة ‏لعملية اتخاذ القرار، وتطبيقات البرامجيات الذكية في الاستشارات القانونية.‏

بدءاً من الأصل التقني للعلم، تطورت المعلوماتية القانونية إلى مجال يعنى حالياً بالتأثيرات الاجتماعية ‏والاقتصادية لاستخدام المعلوماتية، بمقدار ما يعني بالجوانب التقنية لتطبيق التكنولوجيا في المجال القانوني. وبمعنى ‏أشمل، يمكن القول أن مجال المعلوماتية القانونية قد اتسع ليتضمن قضايا أخرى متعلقة بالجوانب القانونية والاجتماعية ‏لاستخدام المعلومات، ومنها السلام والأمن، والقانون الدولي، والتجارة الإلكترونية، وحقوق الإنسان. وتجدر الإشارة هنا ‏إلى أن القانون السَيْبَريّ ‏‎(Cyberlaw)‎، أي القانون المتعلق بجرائم الإنترنت‎ ‎ضمن شبكات اتصال الحاسوب، والذي ينظم ‏العلاقات والأعمال في الفضاء الافتراضي المرتبط بهذه الشبكات، هو مجال قائم بذاته، وإن كان وثيق الصلة بالمعلوماتية ‏القانونية.‏

ويعود تزايد الاهتمام بالمعلوماتية القانونية إلى تقدم المستمر مجتمع المدني نحو مجتمع المعلومات، مع ما يمثل ‏هذا المجتمع من عولمة تتخطى حدود المدن والدول والبلدان، أسس لها الاندماج المتسارع لنماذج التجارة، والسياسات ‏الوطنية الناظمة لها، ويدعمها التقدم المتسارع في تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات. وسيؤدى التحول نحو مجتمع ‏المعلومات إلى تغييرات أساسية في الهياكل الاجتماعية القائمة، أخذت صورة تحولها من هياكل اجتماعية مقيدة ذات تنظيم ‏تراتبي، ومتجانسة نسبياً، ومتماسكة بكثافة إلى شبكات اجتماعية. نتجت عن ذلك تحديات قانونية جديدة ارتبطت ‏بالخصائص المميزة لشبكات اتصال الحاسوب التي تشكل البنية التحتية لمجتمع المعلومات، والتي لم يسبق لها مثيل من ‏حيث اتساع نطاق الاتصال، وعظم إمكانية إعادة الإنتاج، مع خفاء التسمية. هذا بالإضافة إلى التحديات الناتجة عن ‏الحاجة إلى التكيف مع الترتيبات الهيكلية الملازمة للتغيرات في الواقع الاجتماعي، وهي ترتيبات ليست بالضرورة ثابتة أو ‏ساكنة أو حصرية. فبينما شهد الماضي تكيف الأفراد، وبالتالي القانون، مع الترتيبات الاجتماعية القائمة، سيشهد المستقبل ‏تكيف الترتيبات الاجتماعية، وبالتالي القانون، مع الأفراد بما يلائم توجيهات النظام الفردي الشبكي.‏

انطلاقاً من هذا التعريف، يتوقع أن تقوم المعلوماتية القانونية بدور أساسي في دعم تحول المجتمع المدني إلى ‏مجتمع المعلومات، وذلك ليس فقط من خلال إتاحة المعلومات والمعرفة القانونية على نطاق واسع، ولكن أيضاً بالقياس ‏الدقيق للأثر الناتج عن تعزيز نشر المعلومات القانونية، وإمكانية النفاذ إليها، وتطبيق القوانين السَيْبَريّه على المجتمع.‏

‏2- المواضيع :‏

يشكل غياب البنية الأساسية القانونية عائقاً رئيسياً في تطوير مجتمع المعلومات في غربي آسيا وفي المنطقة ‏العربية. وتعتبر هذه البنية من المكونات الوظائفية لبناء الثقة، المتمثلة بالقيم الاجتماعية والسياسية والأخلاقية التي ينبغي ‏التأكيد عليها في العلاقات بين عناصر المجتمع التي تشكل جزءاً من المجتمع الافتراضي. ولغياب البنية الأساسية القانونية ‏الفعالة أثران هامان، وهما: (1) انخفاض مستوى الوعي لدى الجمهور، وحصر إمكانية النفاذ إلى المعلومات لأسباب غير ‏مبررة، (2) ندرة أو عدم كفاية تناول قضايا النفاذ والخصوصية والمساءلة في التقارير الوطنية والتشريعات في المنطقة. ‏ويشير هذا إلى طبيعة الصعوبات التي تواجه الآليات التشريعية المسؤولة، أكثر مما يشكل مقياساً لمستوى الاهتمام بمثل ‏هذه القضايا.‏

فالقدرة علي النفاذ إلى المعلومات القانونية ليست فقط حقاً عاماً، بل هي أيضاً القاسم المشترك بين العناصر ‏الضرورية لتأسيس النظام الفعال لتطبيق القانون. بالإضافة إلى هذا، فإنها تمثل عنصراً أساسياً في عملية التمكين والتوعية، ‏مثلها مثل القدرة على تحويل ما توفر من معلومات قانونية إلى معرفة ملائمة تعزز وعي المواطنين بالنواحي القانونية ‏لمشاكلهم، وترشدهم إلى الحلول القانونية الممكنة والخطوات التي ينبغي اتخاذها للوصول إلى هذه الحلول، وتوجههم نحو ‏الموارد المتوفرة للحصول على الحل القانوني.‏

وتمثل مناقشة هذه المواضيع مدخلاً لتبني الأسلوب الأمثل لخلق البيئة التمكينية اللازمة لتعزيز المشاركة المدنية ‏والديمقراطية الفعالة للمواطنين. ‏

‏3- الأهـداف‏

تؤكد ورشة العمل على الدور الأساسي للمعلوماتية القانونية في تعزيز النفاذ إلى المعلومات القانونية ونشرها، ‏ومنها المعلومات لدى الحكومات، ولاسيما الضرورية لإعلام الجمهور عن حقوقهم وواجباتهم، أو لتمكينهم من معرفتها. ‏

وتهدف ورشة العمل إلى البدء في خلق البيئة التمكينية لتكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات، والتي يمكن من خلالها ‏تسهيل الإدارة في العدل، والتنسيق بين مختلف القوانين والقرارات، وذلك على المستويات الوطنية والإقليمية والدولية. كما ‏تهدف إلى الشروع في إنشاء قاعدة معرفة قانونية مشتركة، تعتمد منهجية موحدة لمعايير معالجة النصوص والمعلومات ‏القانونية تعتمد على البنية الخاصة بالنصوص القانونية وخصائص اللغة القانونية من أجل الربط بين ما توفر من المصادر ‏التشريعية والقانونية العربية. وتشتمل القاعدة المعرفية القانونية على ما يلي:‏

‎•‎ نظام لإدارة الوثائق القانونية العربية ودعم اتخاذ القرار؛
‎•‎ موسوعة مفردات قانونية بالعربية تستخدم كأداة بحث في قواعد البيانات القانونية العربية، وكمرجع للتمعن ‏بالمصطلحات القانونية العربية وتنسيقها فيما بين المؤسسات العربية القانونية والتشريعية والبحثية والمهنية؛
‎•‎ قواعد بيانات قانونية لتسهيل بناء موسوعة شاملة للمصطلحات القانونية العربية، ضمن تنظيم معين يبين ‏العلاقات التي تربط بين المصطلحات والمفاهيم، وتحدد معناها (‏Ontology‏).‏

‏4- المخرجات

من أهم النتائج المتوقعة من ورشة العمل:‏
‎•‎ زيادة استيعاب المشاركين لماهية المعلوماتية القانونية وأهمية دور تطبيقات مجتمع المعلومات في تأمين ‏النفاذ والمساءلة؛
‎•‎ وضع إرشادات تتعلق بالتطبيقات والخدمات ذات القيمة المضافة في المجال القانوني تستجيب للاحتياجات ‏المشتركة للمؤسسات العربية التشريعية، والأكاديمية، والبحثية، ولمنظمات المجتمع المدني؛
‎•‎ إقرار مقاييس قانونية عربية لمعالجة البيانات من أجل تحسين نشر المعلومات القانونية، وتعزيز إمكانية ‏التنسيق فيما بين التشريعات العربية، وتعزيز التفاهم حول خصوصيات واحتياجات المجتمعات العربية ‏المختلفة؛
‎•‎ تبني خطة لبناء قاعدة معرفة قانونية تربط بين المصادر القانونية والتشريعية المتوفرة عربياً، وتعتمد على ‏موسوعة قانونية عربية وقاعدة مصطلحات قانونية توفران إمكانية البحث عن المعلومات القانونية شبكة على ‏الوب السيميائي ‏‎(Semantic Web)‎‏.‏

‏5- التنظيـم‏

تنظم ورشة العمل كل من الجمعية اللبنانية لتكنولوجيا المعلومات ‏‎(LITA) ‎، ولجنة الأمم المتحدة الاقتصادية ‏والاجتماعية لغرب آسيا (إسكوا)، ومؤسسة فريدريش إيبرت شتيفتونغ ‏‎ (FES)‎‏ في لبنان. وتعقد في بيت الأمم المتحدة في ‏بيروت، خلال الفترة 12-14 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2005.‏

‏6- المشاركون‏

يشارك في ورشة العمل حقوقيون، ومهنيون في المجال القانوني، ومعنيون باتخاذ القرار، وخبراء في تكنولوجيا ‏المعلومات والاتصالات، وباحثون في مجالات المعلوماتية والقانون من مؤسسات عربية تشريعية وقضائية، ومنظمات ‏إقليمية ودولية، ومعاهد أكاديمية ومؤسسات بحث علمي، وشركات عاملة في مجال المعلوماتية القانونية.‏

على جميع المشاركين التسجيل على موقع الورشة من خلال صفحة الإنترنت التالية: ‏http://www.escwa.un.org/wsis/meetings/‎‏.‏

‏7- اللغـة‏

تعتمد ورشة العمل اللغات العربية والإنكليزية والفرنسية، وسوف تتوفّر الترجمة الفورية خلال الجلسات.‏

‏8- معلومات إضافية‏

لمزيد من المعلومات حول المشاركة والقضايا الموضوعية، الرجاء الاتصال بـ:‏

السيدة منى الأشقر جبور
أستاذ القانون ورئيس
الجمعية اللبنانية لتكنولوجيا المعلومات
بيروت، لبنان‏
بريد إلكتروني: ‏moacja@ul.edu.lb، ‏maj_4_0000@yahoo.fr
هاتف: 253732-3-961‏
فاكس: 911931-4-961‏

السيد هشام عودة
موظف أول لتكنولوجيا المعلومات ورئيس فريق عمل
شعبة تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات‏
اللجنة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغربي آسيا (إسكوا)‏
ص.ب.: 8575-11، بيروت، لبنان‏
بريد إلكتروني: ‏auda@un.org
هاتف: 978554-1-961‏
فاكس: 981510-1-961‏

السيد سمير فرح
ممثل المؤسسة في لبنان
مؤسسة فريدريش إيبرت شتيفتونغ‏‎ (FES) ‎
بيروت، لبنان‏
بريد إلكتروني: ‏samir.farah@feslb.org
هاتف/فاكس: 353698-1-961‏

لمزيد من المعلومات حول الأمور التنظيمية، ومنها السفر والإقامة، الرجاء الاتصال بـ:‏

السيد عزيز بربر
نائب الرئيس
الجمعية اللبنانية لتكنولوجيا المعلومات
بيروت، لبنان‏
بريد إلكتروني: ‏abarbar@aust.edu.lb
هاتف: 296121-3-961‏
فاكس: 911931-4-961‏

السيدة جوليانا ضاهر
مساعدة أبحاث، شعبة تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات
اللجنة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغربي آسيا (إسكوا)‏
ص.ب.: 8575-11، بيروت، لبنان‏
بريد إلكتروني: ‏daher@un.org
هاتف: 978548-1-961‏
فاكس: 981510-1-961‏
 


 

تفاصيل الاجتماع

التقرير النهائي

النسخة الإنكليزية

مذكرة توضيحية (بالعربية)

مذكرة توضيحية (بالإنكليزية)

مذكرة توضيحية (بالفرنسية)

وثائق المؤتمر

لائحة المشاركين (بالإنكليزية)

Home
About WSIS
Conferences & Meetings
Follow-up
Reg. Plan of Action
Info Society Profiles

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

MEETINGS

Legal Informatics – An Arab Perspective
United Nations House, Beirut, 12-14 December 2005‎


‎1. Background‎

Legal informatics is an evolving field that has its origin in the old interdisciplinary science of ‎‎“Jurimetrics.” In essence, Jurimetrics was meant to deal with the application of computer science to ‎the law, and, hence, was limited to considering the interaction of new technologies and the law from a ‎technical perspective only. As such, the domain of legal informatics comprised three fundamental ‎areas, namely: data storage and retrieval, behavioral analysis, and the use of symbolic logic, and ‎accordingly, the following three branches [Lucchi]: ‎

  • ‎Management legal informatics, comprising software tools for managing legal and ‎administrative procedures, computer use in the legal profession, automation of judicial ‎procedures, and drafting of legislations.‎

  • Document legal informatics, dealing with information retrieval and legal document ‎databases. This includes the design and development of technologies for text search, ‎classification, summarization, information extraction, and legal thesauri.‎

  • Decision legal informatics, focusing on the construction and utilization of legal expert ‎systems, decision-making tools, and intelligent agents for legal advising.‎

Legal informatics is now emerging as a discipline that is concerned with the social and economic ‎implications of informatics use, as much as with the technical aspects of applying technology in the ‎legal domain. In widest sense, scope of legal informatics may also be construed to encompass other ‎issues with info-legal aspects, including peace and security, international law, e-commerce, ‎democracy, and human rights. Cyberlaw, as the law concerned with cybercrimes within computer ‎mediated communication networks, is a closely related, albeit distinct, discipline.‎

The transformation of legal informatics is due to the evolution of civil society towards the information ‎society. The information society represents a modern phenomenon characterized with a globalization ‎movement that transcends towns, states, and countries. The evolution is based on the fusion of new ‎business paradigms, policy rules, and information and communication technologies [ICTs], and is ‎having the effect of transforming our social systems from ones bound up in hierarchically arranged, ‎relatively homogeneous, densely knit, bounded groups to social networks. This has brought bussing ‎technological advances for legal informatics applications together with new legal challenges. The ‎challenges stem from the social changes due to the unprecedented scope, anonymity, and ‎reproducibility associated with computer networks that make up the physical infrastructure underlying ‎the information society, as well as the need to adopt to the various arrangements that implement the ‎resulting changes in societal context. These arrangements are not necessarily stationary, static, or ‎even mutually exclusive. Individuals, and hence, the law, have always adapted to existing social ‎arrangements; in the future, social arrangements, and, hence, the law, may have to become accustomed ‎to individuals, a dictum of the networked individual order. Legal informatics can serve to empower ‎the civil society not only by providing the means and ways to make information and knowledge ‎widely available, but also by allowing for accurate measurement of the impact of improved access and ‎dissemination of legal information and application of cyberlaws on the society.‎


‎2. Issues‎

The lack of a functional legal infrastructure is a major hurdle in the development of the information ‎society in Western Asia and the Arab region. Such an infrastructure is an essential component of the ‎trust infrastructure that embodies all of the societal constraints, in the form of social, political, and ‎moral values that must be asserted for the elements of the society that are part of the virtual society. ‎On the one hand, the lack of a functional legal infrastructure is manifested in diminishing public ‎awareness and undue restriction of access. On the other hand, access, privacy, and accountability ‎issues are scarcely, if at all, considered in national reports and legislations in the region. This double ‎jeopardy is an indication of the nature of difficulties facing the legislative mechanisms employed ‎rather than a measure of the level of interest in such issues.‎

Access to legal information is a key phase of the cycle of awareness. It is not only a public right but is ‎also a common denominator of the elements critical to the establishment of a viable system of rule of ‎law; viz.: rules assessment, good governance, and development and planning. Deficiency of needed ‎information and the inability to render available information into applicable knowledge are hindering ‎elements in decision making quality. To be legally competent, efficiently active, and appropriately ‎empowered, citizens must have access to the legal information that make them aware that their ‎problems have a legal aspect, enlighten them as to the possible legal solutions to their problems, help ‎them to act to obtain a legal solution, and guide them towards available resources to obtain a legal ‎solution.‎

Examination of these and other issues is a key to creating an enabling environment with a view ‎towards supporting effective public participation in civil and democratic processes.‎

‎3. Objectives‎

The workshop emphasizes the essential role of legal informatics in enhancing access and ‎dissemination of legal information, in particular the information within the possession of governments ‎and necessary for informing the public as to their rights and obligations, or that would assist them in ‎doing so. The objective of the workshop is to create an ICT enabling environment to facilitate the ‎administration of justice and harmonization among different judicial and legislative codes at the ‎national level, as well as at the regional and international levels. A legal informatics-based approach ‎is utilized to interconnect available Arab legal and legislative resources into a virtual common ‎knowledge reservoir that employs a standardized processing methodology of legal language and legal ‎information according to documents structure. The common knowledge reservoir sought would be ‎comprised of:‎

  • ‎Information system for Arabic legal document management and decision making.‎

  • Arabic legal thesaurus to be used not only as a search tool on Arabic legal databases but ‎also as a reference to understand and harmonize legal vocabularies among Arab legal, ‎legislative, research, and professional bodies.‎

  • Legal databases that can facilitate building an Arabic legal ontology.‎

‎4. Outcome‎

The expected outcomes from this workshop are as follows:‎

  • ‎Participants acquire understanding of the role information society applications play with ‎regard to the accessibility of information and accountability;‎

  • Guidelines are established for added-value applications and services in the legal field ‎responding to the common needs of Arab legislative bodies, academic and research ‎institutions, and civil society organizations;‎

  • Arabic legal information processing standards are elaborated to ensure better ‎dissemination of legal information, enhance the possibility of harmonizing Arab ‎legislations, and provide better understanding of the various societies’ particularities and ‎needs.‎

  • A plan for building and deploying a virtual common Arab knowledge reservoir inter-‎connecting available Arab legal and legislative resources is considered. The virtual Arab ‎legal knowledge reservoir sought would be based on legal Arabic thesaurus and ontology ‎essential for research in a legal semantic web.‎

‎5. Organization‎

The workshop is jointly organized by the Lebanese Information Technology Association (LITA), ‎ESCWA, and the Friedrich Ebert Stiftung (FES) Foundation in Lebanon. The workshop will be held ‎at the United Nations House, Beirut, during 12-14 December 2005.‎

‎6. Participants‎

The workshop will be attended by jurists, legal professionals, decision makers, ICT experts, and ‎researchers in the fields of ICT and law from Arab legislative and judicial bodies, regional and ‎international organizations, academic and research institutions, and the private sector. Participants ‎need to register online, using the Web site: http://www.escwa.un.org/wsis/meetings.‎

‎7. Language‎

The working languages of the workshop will be Arabic, English, and French. Simultaneous ‎translation will be provided. ‎

‎8. Additional Information‎

Enquiries and requests for additional information regarding participation and substantive matters ‎should be addressed to:‎

Ms. Mona Al-Achkar Jabbour
Professor of Law and President
Lebanese Information Technology Association (LITA)‎
Beirut, Lebanon
Email: moacja@ul.edu.lb, maj_4_0000@yahoo.fr
Tel: +961-3-253732‎
Fax: + 961-4-911931‎

Mr. Hesham Auda
First Information Technology Officer & Team Leader‎
Information and Communication Technology Division
Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia
PO Box 11-8575, Beirut, Lebanon‎
Email: auda@un.org
Tel: +961-1-978554‎
Fax: +961-1-981510‎

Mr. Samir Farah
Representative in Lebanon ‎
Friedrich Ebert Stiftung (FES)‎
Beirut, Lebanon
Email: samir.farah@feslb.org
Tel/Fax: +961-1-353698‎



Inquiries regarding logistics, including travel and accommodation, should be directed to:‎

Mr. Aziz Barbar
Vice President
Lebanese Information Technology Association
Beirut, Lebanon
Email: abarbar@aust.edu.lb
Tel: +961-3-296121‎
Fax: + 961-4-911931‎

Ms. Juliana Daher
Research Assistant, ICT Division
Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia
PO Box 11-8575, Beirut, Lebanon‎
Email: daher@un.org
Tel: +961-1-978548‎
Fax: +961-1-981510‎